Welcome to Connected Life 2016

Update: Ticket sales are now live – go to our University of Oxford Shop to purchase yours!

Connected Life 2016 is a two-day student-run conference dedicated to sparking exchange between disciplines and showcasing emerging Internet research. Bringing together participants from across the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, Connected Life seeks to foster collaborations within and beyond Oxford in pursuit of an enhanced understanding of the Internet and its multifaceted effects. 

Connected Life is held at the Faculty of Classics on day 1 and Balliol College on day 2 (University of Oxford), and supported by the Balliol Interdisciplinary Institute and the ESRC.


The theme for this year is Collective Action and the Internet. The Conference explores how the Internet affects collective action; both in big social movements, such as the Arab Spring and the Hong Kong Protests, and in more everyday forms of collaboration. Though other social science research relating to the Internet is most welcome as well – see our Call for Papers.

For a preview of what’s to come, please see the provisional programme for this year’s conference, and catch us on Twitter to stay connected (@OxConnectedLife).

See you soon!

Wybo Wiersma, Bertie Vidgen & Ilinca Barsan

Connected Life 2016 Conference Chairs
connectedlife@oii.ox.ac.uk @OxConnectedLife

Oxford Internet Institute

Join the Mailing List

We have just started our own mailing list to provide updates about the conference, including key deadlines. Use this link to send an email to sympa@maillist.ox.ac.uk with the subject of “subscribe connected-life-conference” to subscribe to the list. This will sign you up immediately. Alternatively, if you have a University of Oxford Single Sign-On account, you can subscribe by logging in to Sympa directly.

The Connected Life Team

Wybo Wiersma (Chair: Programme)
Bertie Vidgen (Chair: Organisation)
Ilinca Barsan (Chair: Media)
Kate Sim (Copy-editor & Secretary)
Odysseas Sclavounis (Speaker Liaison)
Andrew Berkley (Visual Design)
Eli Rachovitsky (Marketing)
Allison Mishkin (Webmaster)
Naomi Bick (Submissions)
Deniz Aydin (Party)